L’Inferno is a 1911 Italian silent film, loosely adapted from Inferno, the first canticle of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy. L’Inferno took over three years to make, and was the first full-length Italian feature film. This time screen at the Old Church in Charlois, Rotterdam with live music by Rotterdam Kinematic Ensemble.

Rotterdam Kinematic Ensemble is an improvisation music ensemble created by Gonçalo Almeida and Philipp Ernsting to perform live music during silent movies.
The ensemble works within the experimental and improvisation music community of Rotterdam, with a variable geometry which adapts the instrumental set according to the movie program.
The ensemble is valued for the intense musical improvisation between players and interaction with the movie, making a unique audio cinematic experience for the audience.
Philipp Ernsting – percussions
Maria Martpay – marimba
Gonçalo Almeida – doublebass
Nina Hitz – cello
Hugo Costa – alto sax
Johanna Monk- saxs,clarinets &little instr.
Robert Kroos – electronics
Giovanni di Domenico – organ & piano